15
Jan
11

Rwanda Film Institute to offer Scholarships in Diploma Courses!

The Rwanda Film Institute is staged to offer both certificates and diplomas and in future affiliated degrees. Our vision for our program utilizes our institution mission statement as a foundation, while augmenting the overall strategic plan.
Our institute is poised for further growth and transition as we move forward over the next five years with a number of exciting initiatives and opportunities.
The aim of the institution is to provide media and film education to people in East Africa and great lakes region with a population exceeding 200 million people. A huge portion of this is comprised of young men and women who are keen and ready to venture into the media trade. The field is offering incredible opportunities to people in the region.
Our mandate is to train and give skills in media, arts and film education to our students. The reason for creating a film school was to ensure that a large number of people get involved in the media and other activities of arts and culture.
As we all know, Africa voice need to be heard and these voices may come from the heart of Africa. During the last decade, the Rwanda Cinema Centre where the idea of film school was born has excelled as a centre stage for film training in the region.
Our reputation in training young men and women in filmmaking techniques has been felt across Africa and abroad. Our student films are later shown to thousands of people in different locations of Rwanda using inflatable screens. This has endowed us the famous name ‘HILLYWOOD’ which means Cinema in the hills of Rwanda. We take films to the country side and screen them to excited audiences numbering five to ten thousand. It ends up as a godsend to most people who have limited access to TV, film or any form of entertainment.
Our students produce feature and short films which are not only shown in East Africa but have also been screened in several high profile film festivals such as Tribeca, Goteborg, Tokyo, Durban, and Fespaco among others.
The film school and our activities are supported by the ministry of sports and culture, Sida Rwanda, the Swedish Institute, the Goteborg Film Fund, Cinema Africa Tokyo, Rhenanie palatianate, Art Action to name but just a few.
We look life a little differently than most people. We see moments captured through the lens of a camera and the glow of a spotlight. We watch people in moments of desire, love, pain, sorrow and hope…’ If you want to be part of our team, if you have the heart and determination to put yourself out there and expose your passion
We welcome you! Turn your passion for films into a career
An application for Academic year 2011 Slated in JUNE is on progress and space is extremely limited!
Book early to avoid disappointments.
Email: rwandafilminstitute@gmail.com or call +250785217946 for enquiries.
NB: Only few selected and deserving students will access scholarships. Email your full detailed profile explaining why you deserve the scholarship!

37 Responses to “Rwanda Film Institute to offer Scholarships in Diploma Courses!”


  1. 1 Umutesi
    January 18, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    I like to share idears

  2. 2 Umutesi
    January 18, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I like to share some idears

  3. January 18, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Hi Umutesi, thanks a lot for visiting our site. You are free to share ideas with us. Let us know how well we can be of help to you.

  4. January 24, 2011 at 12:11 am

    Thank admission i need scholarship in diploma courses what can do thank you

  5. 5 RFI-Team
    January 27, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Thanks NDIKUMANA for your email. However, you need to articulately write explaining why you deserve the scholarship..

  6. 6 Gilbert
    February 7, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Please i realy wish to study in rfi because i hope to see in future our flag rise trough movie industry by professionalisme.thanks.

  7. 7 Millyon Kifle
    February 17, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    My name is Millyon Kifle. I am an Ethiopian. I graduated 12 grade in 2010.
    It will be my pleasure if I get scholarship in the filed of film technology and the other related departements in film catagory. I hope you will assist me in this regard.
    Thank you in advance for your cooperation. I am waiting for your response.

    Millyon Kifle, from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

  8. 8 RFI-Team
    February 17, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Thanks Gilbert for your comment. It’s true we need to raise up to the occasion to raise our country flag through films. Watch this space for the exact course dates. @Millyon Kifle, it’s good news to hear from Ethiopia. Our school is not limited to Rwanda but entire region. We would like you to candidly explain in writing why you deserve the scholarship. You should also include your interest in filmmaking. Send your profile to rwandafilminstitute@gmail.com.

  9. 9 Ermias Assefa
    March 13, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    am from Ethiopia,i have a great passion for film making,,,am looking for possible scholarship to realize my dream of becoming an African film maker

  10. 10 bwire dennis
    May 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    am dennis.i would really love to join you people and acqire a scholarship.am an english literature teacher at sonrise musanze and iwould like to involve myself in film making and drama.

  11. 11 CECILIA WANJIKU MACHARIA
    May 20, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Am a Kenyan student studying film in Kenya.I would love to get scholarship to enable me to get a life time course that will help me work with the people of all nationalities.I will be so grad for it thanks,

  12. 12 umrutasate hawa
    May 20, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    i would like to join in acting and film making .thanks.

  13. 13 Tahmina
    July 14, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Hi!
    I am from Bangladesh.I have passion for visual activism and film making.With this passion i did course in basic photography,television camera and video editing at Pathshala South Asian Media Academy and I did some independent still and video documentary on some national issues…so my question is do i have any chance in your institute to know farther and in this regard please give me advice for what should i do now..?

    Regards
    Tahmina

  14. July 25, 2011 at 11:05 am

    film making is an awesome career… its gud dat you are providing courses 🙂

  15. 15 regis
    August 5, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    i am regis,i wish to be a film maker because i feel its my talent so i really need this scholarship to make my dreams truth.thnks

  16. August 18, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I VE A GREAT HUNGER TO JOIN YOU TELL ME HOW , WHEN YOU WILL START TO HELP ME TO BECOME A FILM MAKER, GOD BLESS

  17. 17 Kalisa Desire
    November 6, 2011 at 11:38 am

    That is very good and i want to make sure that i am involved
    Good bless you

  18. 18 Twizere Pacifique
    November 6, 2011 at 11:42 am

    I want to bo a film maker because i like computer very much and i am talented in it
    Notivy me thee procedures to be involved
    Thank you
    May God bless you

  19. 20 Fitsum
    March 8, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    My dream is to one of the best Ethiopian film maker and i want to reflect the good view of Ethiopia to the world. I hope my dream will be real in your school.

  20. 21 Fitsum
    March 9, 2012 at 12:01 am

    My dream is become one of the best Ethiopian film maker and i want to reflect the good view of Ethiopia to the world. I hope my dream will be real in your school.

  21. May 15, 2012 at 6:45 am

    GESTO Hotel Management Institute Offers: Degree, Diploma and International Certificates with 100% Placement Assistance. For More Details visit: http://www.gestoacademy.com

  22. July 22, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    am dennis.i would really love to join you people and acqire a scholarship.am designer i live in rwanda and iwould like to involve myself in film making and drama.

  23. September 26, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    i am HABINEZA Jean Baptiste student at kwetu institute,i went there because i was very interested in filmmaking. i wanted to develop the tarents that are inside me. i have liked the way they teach us, i like also the courses. i am there for three months. but i need to go into deep that’s why i am asking for scholarship to continue my courses.

  24. September 26, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    for me three months are not enough but are very important because i gonna get new knowledge. and let hope i will continue but i really need your scholarship.

  25. October 3, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    MY FIRST DAY AT KWETU INSTITUTE: it was on 17th September 2012 around 10:00 when i reached the place. after few minutes others came. we were like 8. we were received by Mr JOSEPH the Administrator at kwetu. he gave us the questionnaires to fill so to check out knowledge about filmmaking. the second day, Mr JACQUES came and started to show us documentary films: ISUGI, NINE YEARS BASIC EDUCATION AND SOME TIME IN APRIL. after our observations we were given our first homework to comment those documentary. after Mr KABERA came to welcome us in the institution and continue to motivate us. he asked to us to be creative and good story teller because story is a key to be a good filmmaker. HABINEZA Jean Baptiste.

  26. April 4, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    It’s really a great and useful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  27. 28 kabera
    October 17, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    I thinks Rwanda film for her idea and good information. in pref I’m writer,but is me how now that ,so haw can developed my talent?thx

  28. 29 samayla
    June 27, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    hi, am from nigeria and its not in your region, i want to study in the rfi. what is the process?

  29. October 3, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly
    long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  30. November 9, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    After going over a number of the articles on your
    web page, I really appreciate your technique of blogging.

    I book marked it to my bookmark site list and
    will bee checking back in the near future. Take a look at my
    web site too and tell me what you think.

  31. 32 mayega sulaiman makanga
    December 5, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    its gud

  32. December 26, 2015 at 3:12 pm

    Great site you have here.. It’s hard to find quality
    writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  33. 34 MWESIGYE Emmy
    December 13, 2016 at 3:17 pm

    hi?
    I’m MWESIGYE Emmy from kigali- kanombe
    i would like to know
    how can you help me to join the course ?
    i have completed my secondary level in 2014.

    thank you!

  34. 35 Mutabazi Briton yassin
    April 17, 2017 at 1:31 am

    Hero my name are Mutabazi Briton yassin I’m Rwandan i live at Kigali Gasabo district i graduated last year in computer electronics in A level i want that schoolership because i like firm making it will be my presure to get it faithfully yours

  35. 36 Siboniyo leopord
    May 12, 2017 at 3:30 pm

    as a Rwandan youth is the long time were looking how I can become one in Rwandan professional peaples in film making knowlegement but I now get you(Rwnda film institute) I got happy and I would like to become your student as if I wanted I would like you to allow it to me.


Leave a Reply

